Breaking: Supreme Court Upolds INEC’s De-registration Of Political Parties


The Supreme Court of Nigeria, on Friday upheld the decision of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to de-register 22 political parties.
The electoral body had scrapped and banned the political parties from contesting in elections in 2020.

Justice Ejembi Eko in his ruling on Friday, voided and set aside the judgment of the Court of Appeal which had nullified the de-registration.

According to Justice Eko, the Court of Appeal ruled in favour of the affected parties without hearing from other parties in the matter.
This appeal by INEC is meritorious and is hereby allowed. The decision of the court below is set aside.”

The affected party include, Advanced Congress of Democrats, ACD, Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party, ANDP, All Blending Party ABP, All Grand Alliance Party, AGAP, Alliance of Social Democrats, ACD, Change Advocacy Party, CAP, Democratic Peoples Congress, DPC, Green Party of Nigeria, GPN.

Others parties include Masse Movement of Nigeria, MMN, Mega Party of Nigeria, MPN, New Generation Party of Nigeria, NGP, Nigeria For Democracy, NFD, Peoples Coalition Party PCP, Progressive Peoples Alliance, PPA, People For Democratic Change, PDC, and Young Democratic Party, YDP.
The rest are Re-build Nigeria Party, RBNP, Save Nigeria Congress, SNC, Socialist Party of Nigeria, SPN, United Democratic Party, UDP, United Patriots, UP, and We the People Nigeria, WTPN.

Bibian Anekwe News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here