INEC: Prof Yakubu, Five Commissioner’s Tenure To End On Nov. 9


The Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu and five commissioners under the electoral body might see their tenure end on November 9, 2020

The INEC Chairman has thirty-one days to end his tenure, seek for a renewal or a new Chairman is appointed.

To reappoint a new Chairman for the commission, the President has to nominate, ratification by the Council of State and confirmation by the Senate.

Some analyst have, however, stated that the process might take a longer time.

There are reports that some individuals are interested in the position of INEC Chairman.

There are speculations that some politicians are planning to plant an individual in the position ahead of the 2023 elections.

A senior government official which spoke with Daily Trust, noted that two national Commissioners are interested in taking over from Yakubu if his tenure is not renewed.

The Presidency while speaking on the development said, “We are now in October’’, insinuating that there was still time to take action on the matter.”

If Yakubu’s tenure is renewed, he would be the first INEC chairman to have a second term.

The seven national commissioners whose tenure is not lapsing on November 9 are; Air Vice Marshal Ahmed Mu’azu, Malam Mohammed Kudu Haruna, Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu, Engr. Abubakar Nahuche, Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu, Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola, and Barrister Festus Okoye.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here